Lego librarians, Oranges and Peaches

May 8, 2013 at 2:02 pm 8 comments

legolibrarianLego recently introduced a librarian minifigure holding a copy of Oranges and Peaches, which is a bit of an inside joke for librarians (though really, in the age of Google, are there any truly inside jokes any more?).

Oranges and Peaches (a misunderstood Origin of Species) is an imaginary book made real; full story here. (The tale almost certainly originated in the 1995 movie Party Girl; a reference to it appeared in a scholarly article the following year.)

vikinglibrarianThe description of the Lego librarian leaves something to be desired: it contains references to overdue books and shushing, not most librarians’ idea of the important part of our work. But of course, the librarian minifig has already been repurposed: Kristin Bell has made a Lego Viking librarian (something we all need in our minifig collection). I might also like to see mash-ups with the Warrior Woman or Medusa, but maybe not the Street Harassment Construction Worker.

Thanks, Joan Petit!

Entry filed under: books, general, video.

Dick Cheney Vice Presidential Library Here’s My (Call) Number

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joan Petit  |  May 8, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    All credit goes to Kristin Bell, the brilliant mind behind the Viking Librarian on my library’s Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/PortlandStateLibrary/posts/10151535573928666?notif_t=like

    Reply
  • 2. Kathleen Kirk  |  May 8, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    The Librarian in Middletown, by Will Eno, shushes another character, but I took that to be kind of an in-joke, actually.

    Reply
  • 3. Carol Keck  |  May 19, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    Disturbingly, there was another take on the Party Girl reference. I found a book called _Oranges and peaches: or Why Evolution?_ c. 2000 by Richard L. Horner on WorldCat. Given his other publication, I am guessing that the author is a creationist. If so, his book is the opposed to the work it references. Well, I haven’t seen Party Girl, but it’s opposed to Darwin’s theory. 🙂

    I scored two librarian Legos today. My son is a huge Lego fan. So he was tickled that I was going shopping for toys for myself. My sister gets the other one. She’s a librarian like me.

    I do prefer the Viking Librarian, however, now that I see her. 🙂

    Thanks!

    Reply
    • 4. Carol Keck  |  May 19, 2013 at 12:51 pm

      Oh shoot! The “other publication” is by a different author. Since I searched by the author’s name link on Amazon, I assumed ithey were both by the same author. I can’t guess the content of this book, then.

      Reply
    • 5. Jessy Randall  |  May 19, 2013 at 12:56 pm

      I am quite creeped out that a Creationist would reference Party Girl. It seems like those two circles — Creationists and people who have seen Party Girl — wouldn’t overlap in a Venn diagram. I wonder what Parker Posey would have to say about it. Of course, when she doesn’t recognize the title Origin of the Species, she is showing her ignorance. Maybe the Creationist is, too.

      Reply
      • 6. David  |  July 18, 2013 at 8:58 am

        I have read Oranges and Peaches. Although published in 2000, the book was written several years prior. I know the professor who encouraged him to publish it (E. Sigward), and I’m sure the party girl overlap is entirely coincidental. Dr. Horner is in his eighties- he doesn’t even have cable! Lol

  • 7. Alison  |  May 21, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    I also bought a lego librarian, but I also bought the socialite with the smart phone (and puppy). My lego librarian now carries the smartphone in one hand with the shhh cup in the other and the book by her side.

    Reply
    • 8. jessyrandall  |  May 21, 2013 at 1:45 pm

      Alison, if you send me a picture, I’ll post! jessyrandall [DUH] yahoo [DOY] com.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,167 other followers


