Mini-libraries all over town

May 17, 2012 at 9:26 pm 4 comments

The Little Free Library project aims to get little one-shelf libraries all over the U.S.. The birdhouse-like structures are endearing and the project seems delightful. (The librarian in me, though, fears that these sweet little birdhouse structures will end up becoming dumping grounds for junky books that nobody wants. Hush, librarian in me!) Thanks, BoingBoing!

Entry filed under: art, books, unusual libraries.

1000 books hidden around Seattle CC students respond to library annoyances

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bill Chance  |  May 17, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    I like this – I bet you’ll be surprised at the quality of the books that end up in these. At least, when compared to what folks actually read. When I was a kid I had access to an informal lending library that was dominated by cheap Science Fiction, which I devoured. It wasn’t too harmful, I had an English professor tell me the important thing is to read, no matter what.

    Thanks for sharing. I might make one of these for my back yard. There’s a jogging trail there and I need to get rid of some books.

    Reply
  • 2. jessyrandall  |  May 17, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    If you make one, make sure to tell the project and get on their map!

    Reply
  • […] knew about some of the mini-libraries in NYC and elsewhere in the U.S., and we knew that red telephone booths in England were sprouting libraries as early as […]

    Reply
  • […] in Nolita in NYC from Stereotank. Part of the Little Free Library project. We’ve seen other examples here at Library Shenanigans, but this one is my new favorite. Thanks, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,159 other followers


