amazing library cake

August 15, 2014 at 2:33 pm 5 comments

library cakeKathy Knaus made this cake for someone called Sarah. I await further information and will share it if I get it. Thanks, Tabitha Dial!

Addendum, August 21: see the cake-creator’s comments, below.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

card catalog shenanigan Rupert Giles’s library school classes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathy Knaus  |  August 15, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    Hi, what would you like to know? :-)

    Reply
    • 2. jessyrandall  |  August 15, 2014 at 3:21 pm

      Hi Kathy! Whatever you’d like to tell us. How long did it take you to make the cake? What gave you the idea? Is it your own design? Is it all edible? How did you make those teeny tiny books? Who is Sarah? Are you a professional cake designer? Do you like libraries? I could go on.

      Reply
      • 3. Kathy Knaus  |  August 21, 2014 at 2:40 am

        I didn’t really keep an eye on how long it took, and I tend to lose track of time when doing this kind of thing… but it was a few evenings and at least one afternoon, if I remember correctly. Yes, it’s entirely my own design – my daughter Sarah challenged me to make a library cake for her birthday, and this is what I came up with. Everything is edible,the decorations are mostly fondant, gumpaste and modelling chocolate. The only non-sweet (but still edible) element is the ladder, which is made of uncooked spaghetti strands. I’m not a professional cake designer, although sometimes I’d like to be… and I love libraries with a passion. :-)

  • 4. jessyrandall  |  August 21, 2014 at 10:28 am

    Thank you! I thought the ladder might be pretzels. It must have taken forever to do the book titles!

    Reply
  • 5. Irena  |  August 29, 2014 at 10:30 am

    Hi kathy – my daughter saw your cake on facebook and as she is a teacher librarian I would like to have a go at making this for her birthday next week – any chance of getting ideas of how to make it please. many thanks in anticipation – Irena (Canberra ACT)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 905 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 905 other followers

